My first Boston Summit

This monday, I returned from a trip to Boston, during which I attended my first GNOME Boston Summit. During the three days of the event, I was presented to a number of interesting discussions (most of them described by Colin Walters and Mattias Clasen in their reports), ranging from lower level issues to higher level issues. Many of the matters discussed were new to me (I’m a considerably new contributor – started working on GNOME very recently, during the last round of the OPW) and, therefore, the Summit was a great, great way to learn tones about the very many areas of the GNOME project – the sessions on GNOME OS, Developer tools and 3.7 planning were specially interesting to me, in that sense.

Apart from all the learning, I also had the opportunity to actually engage in some very interesting conversations. I had a number of discussions on GNOME marketing messaging, culminating in (what I think to be) a very useful Marketing session during the last day of the Summit. We did some brainstorming on the GNOME project’s vision and goals and tried to come up with ideas on how to better communicate them. This is tightly related to another discussion I had with some people during the Summit, regarding the GNOME main website and how to improve it to better portray our project to current and potential users.

Another great, great thing was the set of activities for Newcomers that was held during this year’s Summit. Most of my contributions to GNOME have been related to design and documentation tasks and so, so far, I haven’t really adventured myself into developement activities. During the Summit, I got the chance to get myself started with the GNOME platform with an introduction to GObject, during the Gnome University session. The Newcomers Tutorial put together for Friday’s session was also really useful in terms of getting myself familiarized with the tools and workflows used for GNOME development. During the “Fix-your-first-bug” hackfest, I got to practice the things I learned from the tutorial and also manage to successfully jhbuild GNOME for the first time (!). Even though I haven’t finished fixing my first bug (yet, I hope!), these sessions were indeed great introduction for new contributors.

So, yeah, this was a great first Boston Summit, I think. Thanks to everyone that put work on making it happen, to Marina and Christian for the amazing Newcomers track, and to the GNOME Foundation for making it possible for me to attend it.

Leave a Reply

